Homeless Veterans VA help

How to house a Homeless Veteran?  We all know that there is a shortage of shelter beds, transitional housing beds and permanent affordable housing.

Did you know that the Veterans Affairs  has funds to help you or your agency address that issue and provide and purchase housing?

Grant & Per Diem Program This is the link to the FAQ’s of Veteran Affairs funding

For Shelter plus care type of help – look into HUD-VASH. Quoting the VA’s site “Veterans who are appropriate candidates for this program must need case management services in order to obtain and sustain independent community housing. Veterans who need case management services have serious mental illness, substance use disorder history, or physical disability. Veterans with the most vulnerability are excellent candidates for this program.”

Veterans Justice Outreach Contacts

Each VA medical center has been asked to designate a facility-based Veterans Justice Outreach Specialist, responsible for direct outreach, assessment, and case management for justice-involved Veterans in local courts and jails, and liaison with local justice system partners.

Listed below are the designated Specialists, organized by state.  The VHA healthcare system is organized into regions, known as Veterans Integrated Service Networks (VISNs).  The VISN where the medical center is located is also listed for reference.

I am listing only the California information

California

Fresno, VISN 21, VA Central California Health Care System, Thomas Williams, thomas.williams1@VA.GOV

Loma Linda, VISN 22, VA Loma Linda Healthcare System, Jorge Pineda, jorge.pineda@VA.GOV

Long Beach, VISN 22, VA Long Beach Healthcare System, Andrea Serafin, andrea.serafin@VA.GOV

Los Angeles, VISN 22, VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System (GLA), Sergio Antoniuk, sergio.antoniuk@VA.GOV

Mather, VISN 21, VA Northern California Health Care System, Tracy Cascio, tracy.cascio@VA.GOV

Palo Alto, VISN 21, VA Palo Alto Health Care System, Rachael Sanders, rachael.sanders@VA.GOV

San Diego, VISN 22, VA San Diego Healthcare System, Lezlie Neusteter, lezlie.neusteter@VA.GOV

San Francisco, VISN 21, San Francisco VA Medical Center, Brian Dobbs, brian.dobbs@VA.GOV

NON VA assistance can be found HERE

Leave a Reply